New year brings new legislative and county districts


York County voters may find they live in another county legislative or commission district in 2022, when the newly enacted new districts take effect. There was a high turnout outside Tiger Gym, where Biddeford voters went to the polls, on Election Day in 2020. Photo by Tammy Wells

As for the vote in June and November, voters could end up in a different district for the Maine House of Representatives, Maine Senate or York County Commissioners.

The redistribution brought some changes to the York County landscape, well before the June 2022 primaries.

One such neighborhood is House 9, which currently includes Kennebunkport and parts of Biddeford and Kennebunk. The neighborhood will be called House 134 and will still include these communities, but the “Kennebunk part” will be a bit larger.

Redistribution is an exercise that takes place every 10 years, in response to population changes in the census. The members of the redistribution commission are responsible for trying to ensure that the population of the districts is equal or nearly equal; that the districts be a “contiguous and compact functional territory”, defined as a territory that minimizes obstacles to movement within the district; and commissioners must take into account geographic size, among other considerations.

The boundaries of the Maine House and Senate Districts, County Commission Districts and Congressional Districts were reviewed and adjusted by a bipartisan Allocation Committee, approved by a two-thirds vote of the Legislature, and enacted. by Governor Janet Mills on September 29. The changes were made based on data from the 2020 US Census.

“I applaud the Maine Allocation Commission, especially its chairman, former Maine Supreme Court Justice Donald Alexander, and lawmakers on both sides of the aisle for preparing and approving new maps that live up to our commitment to ensuring that the people of Maine are represented equally and fairly. in their government, ”Mills said in a prepared statement. “To have done it without hard feelings or partisanship and within a limited time frame is something the people of Maine can be proud of.”

Your polling station is in the municipality where you live, but the legislative or county commission district you live in might be a little different when the newly enacted new limits take effect in 2022. Photo by Tammy Wells

There are changes in all Maine Senate districts in York County. Based on Maine’s 1.36 million people. The median or ideal district was determined to have a population of 38,925. Statewide, Senate districts have a population ranging from a low of 37,121 to a high of 40,798.

District 32 is currently made up of Biddeford, Alfred, Arundel, Dayton, Kennebunkport and Lyman. That changes in 2022 when the district abandons Alfred and Kennebunkport, takes over Hollis, and retains Biddeford, Arundel, Lyman and Dayton.

Senate 32 will be an open seat in 2022. The district is currently represented by Democrat Susan Deschambault of Biddeford, who is in her final term.

There are also changes to Senate 31. Currently made up of Saco, Old Orchard Beach, Hollis, Limington and part of Buxton, the newly formed neighborhood will include Saco, Old Orchard Beach and all of Buxton, dropping Hollis and Limington. Senator Donna Bailey, D-Saco, is serving her first term in Senate 31 and previously represented Saco at Maine House.

Senate 34, which currently includes Kennebunk, Wells, Acton, Lebanon, North Berwick and part of Berwick, has also changed. The district will take over all of Berwick, but will drop the cities of Acton and Lebanon.

The new boundaries for Senate 33 will include Alfred, Lebanon, Sanford, and Waterboro, while Senate 35 will include Eliot, Kittery, Ogunquit, South Berwick, and York.

House districts in York County will have different numbers – something that also happens every 10 years – and some districts will have different makeup than they currently have.

Based on Maine’s 1.36 million people, it was determined that the statewide mid-district has 9,022 people. In York County, the district with the lowest deviation from the median, House 130, had 8,715 people and was down 3.41% from the median. The largest, house 135, had a population of 9,432, 4.81 percent above the median.

Saco has two Maine House neighborhoods, numbered 129 and 130.

Old Orchard Beach is home 131.

Biddeford has Districts 132, 133 and part of District 134.

In addition to part of Biddeford, House 134 includes Kennebunkport and parts of Kennebunk. Representative Traci Gere, who represents District 9, said the newly formed district will include slightly more Kennebunk than District 9.

“The current House District 9 includes Kennebunk from the south side of Heath Road down to the ocean,” Gere said in an email. “The new district adds a small triangle of Kennebunk, capturing most of the north side of Heath Road, then connecting to Sea Road a little south of the dog park.”

House 135 includes part of Kennebunk.

House 136 includes Alfred and parts of Lyman and Waterboro; House 137, parts of Buxton and Hollis; House 138, Cornish, Limington and parts of Buxton and Hollis; House 139 Limerick, Parsonsfield and part of Waterboro; and House 140, Arundel, Dayton and part of Lyman.

House 141 includes Newfield, Shapleigh and parts of Sanford; Houses 142 and 143 each include part of Sanford; House 144, Acton and Lebanon; House 145, part of Wells; House 146, Ogunquit and parts of Wells and York; House 147, part of York; House 148, Berwick and part of North Berwick; House 149, parts of North Berwick and South Berwick; House 150 Eliot and parts of South Berwick and Kittery; and house 151, which is part of Kittery.

In 2022, the makeup of some of the five York County Commissioner’s districts has changed, others remain the same. Based on a York County population of 211,972 in 2020, the district’s median population is 42,394, according to the Redistribution Commission.

District 1 includes Acton, Berwick, Cornish, Lebanon, Limington, Newfield, North Berwick, Parsonsfield, Shapleigh and South Berwick.

District 2 includes Arundel, Biddeford, Kennebunk and Kennebunkport.

District 3 includes Saco, Buxton, Hollis and Old Orchard Beach.

District 4 includes Alfred, Dayton, Limerick, Lyman, Sanford, and Waterboro

District 5 includes Eliot, Kittery, Ogunquit, Wells and York.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.